In the spirit of Ut Prosim, the Virginia Tech Women's Alliance champions an equitable and inclusive culture.

The Women's Alliance, in solidarity with caucuses and other university and community allies, provides the Virginia Tech community a forum to achieve shared goals and promote opportunities for underrepresented groups, which includes women of all identities by advancing:

  • Dialogue among the Women's Alliance and the university community
  • Campus services and programs that address the needs of women
  • Efforts to remove systemic barriers to advancement
  • Equity in hiring, promotion, and compensation
  • Mentoring and networking opportunities
  • Access to quality childcare for university employees and students
  • Positive and inclusive campus climate
  • Identification and resolution of campus equity and safety issues

For more information, contact Robin Queen and Kimberly Carlson, Co-Chairs, or Anna LoMascolo, Women's Center Liaison.

2017-18 Executive Committee:

Chair:
Kimberly Carlson, MGT/Business Leadership Center
kimcarlson2009@vt.edu

Robin Queen, BEAM
rmqueen@vt.edu

Vice-Chair/Chair Elect:
Gayatri Ankem (VTTI; sunset@vt.edu)

Secretary/Historian:
Jacqueline Buhrdorf (IT Management; buhrdorf@vt.edu)

Publicity and Communications Coordinator:
Eleanor Nelsen, ICTA
enelsen@vt.edu

(540) 231-2761

Social Activity Coordinator:
Chelsea Lyles, Higher Education
clyles@vt.edu

CEOD Representative:
Tracey Drowne, School of Visual Arts
tdrowne@vt.edu

Tenured / Tenure Track Subcommittee Chair:
Amy Nelson, History
anelson@vt.edu

Research Faculty / Instructors Subcommittee Chair:
Sneha Davison (BEAM; snpatel@vt.edu)

AP Faculty / Staff Subcommittee Chair:
LaRhonda Johnson (Career and Professional Development; larhonda.johnson@vt.edu)
Cindy Kelley (TLOS; kelleycw@vt.edu)

Graduate Student Subcommittee Chair:
Alexandra Hyler (Biomedical Engineering; ahyler@vt.edu)
Kristine Canton (Industrial Systems Engineering; kdc14@vt.edu)

Women’s Center Liaison:
Anna LoMascolo (Women’s Center; alomasco@vt.edu)

Women at Virginia Tech
It is a dynamic time for women and our allies at Virginia Tech! Read more...