In the spirit of Ut Prosim, the Virginia Tech Women's Alliance champions an equitable and inclusive culture.

The Women's Alliance, in solidarity with caucuses and other university and community allies, provides the Virginia Tech community a forum to achieve shared goals and promote opportunities for underrepresented groups, which includes women of all identities by advancing:

  • Dialogue among the Women's Alliance and the university community
  • Campus services and programs that address the needs of women
  • Efforts to remove systemic barriers to advancement
  • Equity in hiring, promotion, and compensation
  • Mentoring and networking opportunities
  • Access to quality childcare for university employees and students
  • Positive and inclusive campus climate
  • Identification and resolution of campus equity and safety issues

For more information, contact Robin Queen and Kimberly Carlson, Co-Chairs, or Anna LoMascolo, Women's Center Liaison.

Upcoming VT Women's Alliance Social:

Please save the date for our first social of the year!  In recognition of InclusiveVT Week, the Office for Inclusion and Diversity has offered to host all caucuses for a joint caucus social.  OID will provide appetizers for attendees. 

Date:  Friday, Sept. 15th
Time:  5 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Location:  Bull & Bones Private Room

If you have questions about the social or would like to help with planning, please contact Latanya Walker at RSVP link to follow. 

2017-18 Full Alliance Meeting Schedule:

  • Thursday, September 14, 12-1:30 pm, 2410 North End Center
  • Tuesday, January 9 @ 4 pm, after Advancing Diversity Workshop
  • Thursday, April 12, 12-1:30 pm (Executive Committee Elections)

2017-18 Executive Committee:

Kimberly Carlson, MGT/Business Leadership Center

Robin Queen, BEAM

Vice-Chair/Chair Elect:
Gayatri Ankem (VTTI;

Jacqueline Buhrdorf (IT Management;

Publicity and Communications Coordinator:
Eleanor Nelsen, ICTA

(540) 231-2761

Social Activity Coordinator:
Chelsea Lyles, Higher Education

CEOD Representative:
Christa Miller, TLOS

Tenured / Tenure Track Subcommittee Chair:
Amy Nelson, History

Research Faculty / Instructors Subcommittee Chair:
Sneha Davison (BEAM;

AP Faculty / Staff Subcommittee Chair:
LaRhonda Johnson (Career and Professional Development;
Cindy Kelley (TLOS;

Graduate Student Subcommittee Chair:
Alexandra Hyler (Biomedical Engineering;
Kristine Canton (Industrial Systems Engineering;

Women’s Center Liaison:
Anna LoMascolo (Women’s Center;

Women at Virginia Tech
It is a dynamic time for women and our allies at Virginia Tech! Read more...